Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cluster Domino Gateway does'nt work on cluster MSCS EV

GrégoryRabillon
Level 4
Partner Accredited

Hello,

I Have the The Domino Server console logs the following error:

...NotifyDirectoryService Failed - [0x80040e14].

I have a MSC Scluster EV on W2K8R2SP1 with one cluster domino with Evhousekeeping functionnality installed on each node.

I read the discussion https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/high-availability-enterprise-vault-domino-gateway about the cluster MSCS Domino.

Should we always install a domino mscs cluster on a cluster mscs enterpise vault, or are there a specific configuration for the gateway operates domino cluster.

Thanks a lot

Grégory

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Paul_Honey
Level 5
Employee Accredited

Gregory,

Ok, so your config matches that of the technote I referenced and your understanding is correct. EVDG's have no awareness of / support for Domino clustering. Domino clustering will not harm the operation of two EVDGs, but it is not going to provide any failover / HA capability from the point of view of what the EVDG does - i.e. handle retrieval / delete / restore requests for Domino items.

So, in such a scenario, your EVDGs are effectively standalone and as per that technote, their existence on a MSCS clustered server has raised the potential for the EVDG registration process to fail, as the EVDG housekeeping task basically passes confusing server name information when the EVDG is situated on an MSCS server.

This is the bug that will be addressed in the forthcoming EV11, but there are manual workarounds to this you can use today. However, as these workarounds require registry or SQL stored proceedure changes, the technote requests that you open a case with Support so the options can be fully explained to you before committing any changes. As I said, post back here the case reference number and I will track it internally.