cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File System Archiving Process while using Trigger File

TrevorSalm
Level 4

Hello Everyone,

First off I would like to state I am still a beginner EV admin. I am currently working on implenting FSA on one of our main production volumes. Right now I am working in a test environment and I am having some trouble understanding the complete process from when the files get archived to when the saftey copies are removed and replaced with place holders. Our storage device is a NetApp 8020 C-Mode and in the current environment I am using a trigger file due to the compatibilty with NetApp and removing the Archive bit.  Here is how I currently get to the end results of having place holders....

Step 1: Make sure the PartitionSecuredNotification.xml is available in the partition's location...

Step 2: Then I enable "backup" mode on the Vault Store.

Step 3: I  clear backup mode from the vault store which takes the PartitionSecuredNotification.xml and renames it to PartitionSecuredNotification.old.

Step 4: I run the associated FSA task in normal mode.

I've noticed that this works and removes the saftey copies but not always( same type of files .zip)... I am assuming I am missing a step or am doing something out of order. Any help is greatly apprecaited!

Thanks,

Trevor

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Yes, those would be the steps.  You may need to wait a few minutes to run the task depending on the number of items that need to be secured.  

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

plaudone1
Level 6
Employee

Hi TrevorSalm,

Was the PartitionSecuredDateTime updated in the XML as this is the date used to secure the items?
Also, you could use the IgnoreArchiveBitTrigger.txt file which will use the creation date on that file to secure items.
The file will then be renamed to .old after coming out of backup mode.