cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Becoming frustrated with Netbackup

JHeaton
Level 6

NBU: 7

I'm brand new to Netbackup.  I understand that this is not a software that you simply throw on a machine, and poke around a bit and get it working.  I have downloaded ALL documentation I could find on this software, and I am going through that documentation as I try to figure things out.  However, I am frustrated at the moment.

I have installed the software, I have a Dell TL2000 SAS connected tape library that I am using at the moment for testing.  I have installed the manufacturer's drivers, and Netbackup sees the library no problem.  I have gone through the Getting Started wizards, and have done an inventory to find the tape media in the library.  All that is fine, up until I see the Media ID for the tapes, which is cutting off the first 2 numbers of the barcode.  My barcodes are 8 characters, with the last 2 characters as L4, as they are LTO4 media.  I have discovered through older posts that I need to use 1/2" cartridge tape in the new Barcode Rule that I'm trying to implement, but I'm not having any luck.  I also have cleaning tapes, that have a barcode of CLNU00L1.  I have tried to setup a barcode rule for this, to put this tape into a different Volume Pool, again, with no luck. 

Do new Barcode Rules not apply to media already listed in the library?  If not, then why the heck not?

Also, my TL2000 has an I/O slot, sometimes referred to as a mail slot, or I/E slot.  Netbackup doesn't seem to see this slot, and automatically import the media there into an empty slot and inventory it.  Is this normal?  If so, then does that mean I have to do a manual inventory every time I put media in the library, or take media out?