cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jobs are not "RETRYING"

Randy_Samora
Level 6
On the Master Server, under Global Attributes, there is an option for "Schedule backup attempts:. I have my master configured for 4 tries per 12 hours. We had isssues with our tapes once and NB won't try a new tape until it gets 3 errors on a piece of media so I set my retries to 4 thinking if a job hit a bad tape, it still had a shot at completing successfully when NB finally grabbed a new tape.

Anyway...I had a job that failed last night but it only ran once; it never requeued or tried again. Is there another setting somewhere else that is causing the job to fail after one attempt? The job ran for almost 3 hours, backed up quite a bit of data and then failed with a Status 23, socket read failed. Are there certain failures that won't retry? I've seen this before and thought I'd ask the experts this time. They were out to lunch so I'll ask ya'll :)

Any ideas?
7 REPLIES 7

Stumpr2
Level 6
Check the "end time" and then check the schedule's window. If the window closed then the job won't retry.
The only failures that I know about that are not influenced by the retry parameter is error code 134Message was edited by:
Bob Stump

Randy_Samora
Level 6
The job failed at 11:00 PM and the window doesn't close until 7:00 AM the following morning. Here's a little more info.