Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup 6.5.4 - Standalone Tape Drive

new_nb_user
Level 3

Netbackup 6.5.4 - Standalone Tape Drive

Hi,

As you may gather by my user name I am new to Netbackup. We have been handed over a system with a single tape drive and tapes have handwritten labels but appear in Netbackup given labels to match the week/day - ie CHD026.  (week 2 , day 6).  Tape CHD026 appears to have been faulty and has not been written to so we decided to delete this from Netbackup and use a new tape but we wanted to label this up the same (ie CHD026). 

Not sure exactly what we did do but we got the tape loaded onto the tape drive and created the barcode rule but when we ran the bplabel command this seemed to hang.  When it came round to week 2 day 6 then the system has loaded and written to the tape but has given it the default label A00000.

Question - Can we amend this to read CHD026 so that we dont have media ids outside of the agreed range ?   Also if we have this issue again and want to replace a tape with the same

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
I have also experienced bplabel to 'hang' when insufficient options are used. For this reason, I prefer to do bplabel with standalone drive from cmd:
bplabel -m <media-id> -d <density> -p <pool-name> -u <drive-index-number>

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Srikanth_Gubbal
Level 6
Certified
did you label the new tape with the barcode label CHD026 phyically?

once you do it expire the content the media from catalog by search for this media or use bpexpdate -d <media id> 0 and then insert the new tape, you will see it as new media in the database..

you can repeat the same, whenever you want to replace the tape.

new_nb_user
Level 3
Hi Srikanth,

Thanks for your reply.