cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup Enterprise Installation and Configuration

SLUG-OO
Not applicable
I'm new to Netbackup Enterprise
I'm installing on Sparc Solaris 10.  I have installed the Netbackup Enterpise Application and need help figuring out what gets installed on my Media Manager Server.  The media manager server in  my environment is a StorageTek Virtual Tape Library
2 REPLIES 2

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
If you cannot afford to go on a 5-day NetBackup training course or get a consultant to assist with installation, I suggest that you spend some time reading NBU manuals first.
You will need the Getting Started Guide, Installation Guide, Device Configuration Guide, NetBackup Admin Guide I and II as well as the Troubleshooting Guide.

All the manuals can be found here: http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/290282.htm

I do not suggest that you read all the manuals before getting started, but start with the manuals in the order that I listed them and read up till you understand the NetBackup architecture and what/how to install and configure. Keep all the manuals handy for reference if there's anything that you don't understand during configuration.

Good luck!!

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6
You want to know what gets installed on your Media Manager Server

but then you say

your media manager server is a library

------
to clear the confusion between us lets get our term defined.

it seems your Sparc is going to be your media MASTER ( it can also be a media server if needed)
a media server is another server that is also going to be doing backups USING a tape library
your tape library will be referred to as a library or a robot.

so you do not install anything on your robot.

for your media server (if you have a second one) you install the same software as your master ( just don't do the emm database)  your emm will be on your first server ONLY.