cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup client and server connectivity

giri_b
Level 4

Hi all,

I am a novice in backup administration and need help from you experts..

Environment:

netbackup enterprise server 7 (windows) in xyz.com domain

suse linux 32 bit client (v 6.5) in abc.com domain

the client is not visible to the server but i am able to ping the client from the server and vice versa.. When trying to find the client from the netbackup administration console it gives the error "cannot connect on socket". As of now the client is not visible to the server and has not been configured yet..

Kindly help..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

"As of the now name resolution is not happening..."

"Can u people list me the steps...."

The only 'step-by-step' guide that I'm aware of is contained in Symantec classroom training manuals.

If you cannot book yourself on a training course, best to make use of services offered by Symantec partners who will do the installation and configuration and at the same time do knowledge transfer.

The other option is to start reading manuals - Installation Guide, Device Configuration Guide, Admin Guide, Troubleshooting Guide.

Steps are more or less as follows (single master/media server backing up network clients; after confirming all compatibility guides):

• Install Server software
  • Configure bakup devices (tape or disk)
  • Configure Storage Units (logical grouping of backup devices)
  • If tape, add media (decide on volume pools before adding media)
  • Install client software
  • Ensure proper name resolution between server and clients (forward and reverse lookup)
  • Review backup requirements (backup selection, schedules, retentions)
  • Create backup policies
  • Test backups

Please consider the following extract from Admin Guide I under 'About the Clients tab' heading: