cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to configure HP Storageworks DAT 40 (DDS4) tape drive on SLES11 media server

Ash23
Level 2

Hi All,
I am quite new to netbackup and also this forum, my first post.
Anyhow, I am having an issue with configuring an internal HP Storageworks DAT 40 SCSI drive with my media server that is runnig SLES11.
I am using Netbackup Enterprise server 6.5 on both the master (Windows 2003) and the media server(SLES11).

I have followed all the steps in the linux device configuration guide and everything is setup correctly.
I have checked with /sbin/lsmod that the st and sg drivers are installed and they are.
The no rewind device files are present which are /dev/nst0

cat /proc/scsi/scis shows my tape drive, see below.

nbu-media:~ # cat /proc/scsi/scsi
Attached devices:
Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: HP       Model: C5683A           Rev: C305
  Type:   Sequential-Access                ANSI  SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi3 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: ATA      Model: ST3250620A       Rev: 3.AA
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI  SCSI revision: 05

I am able to write, read and extract .tar files to and from the drive at the OS level so I really dont think it is an issue with the drive itself.
I can access the drive status, rewind and perform all other possible drive functions with mt.

I have run tests on the drive using the "HP Library and Tape Tools" utility.
All tests complete successfully.

Now, when I try to add the drive on my master server through "configure storage devices" I only tick the media server because it is the only system with a tape drive installed.
The tape drive is detected and it looks as if it is going to work. In the field "state" it says configured. In the field "serialized" it says yes. However, in the "limitations" field it says yes, see properties.