cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BackupExec cannot find server after changing Server's Administrator passwor

Phil_Wiener
Level 2
I am a tech support person and just walked into a situation where there is a 5-computer workgroup (not domain) which includes a W2K Server that is used primarily as a file server and to administrate Backup Exec.

On my first visit, and at the client's request, I changed the W2K Server Administrator's password, and the client reports that Backup Exec now gives an error message indicating that it cannot find the server.

I suspect that Backup Exec may have been using the Administrator's account to access the server, and that BE has a User/Password setting, but am not very familiar with Backup Exec.

I will be returning soon for a second visit and would like to resolve this issue at that time.

Can anyone shed light on this for me? All help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Phil
6 REPLIES 6

Phil_Wiener
Level 2
ADDENDUM: More specifically, what occurs is that when opening Backup Exec a dialog box is displayed from which a server is to be selected, but after changing the Administrator's password for the server, the server is no longer displayed in the dialog box, so there is no server to choose from and BE cannot proceed.

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
I'd guess that the BackupExec Services run under the Administrator account rather than a specific account.

Change the startup poperties of all the BackupExec services to either reflect the new Admin Password or change to a BackupExec Account with Local Admin rights.

Phil_Wiener
Level 2
SECOND ADDENDUM:

SYNOPSIS: Backup Exec is on a W2K Server in a workgroup, not a domain. BE ran fine until the Administrator (local user) password on the W2K server, was changed, after which BE no longer finds the W2K server. I have tried changing the Administrator password back to the original pw, but with no luck.