cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape Library backup strategy

Ahmed_Shawky
Level 3

Dears,

Kindly I have Tape Library MSL 2024 connected to symantec Backup Exec 2012, and i have 24 Tapes (3 TB).

Can anyone help me for the best strategy and usage of the tape library in my case? . How can i deal with them to get the best practice? As it is my first time to deal with tape libraries :)

Regards,

Ahmed

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...OK, what OS are you running? If Windows Server 2003, stop and disable the Removeable Storage service as it clashes with BE's lock over the library.

Are you using a supported SCSI card (assuming that it is a SCSI tape library) or a RAID controller (not supported by HP!), and the same goes for SAS?

Is this a physical server or a VM (not recommended due to limited support...ie, if you can replicate your issue on a physical server, only then would Symantec support you)? And lastly, are the tape library's firmware along with the card it attaches too up-to-date?

Thanks!

View solution in original post

pkh
   VIP    Certified

Try this

1) Delete the library from BE

2) Stop the media server and the library

3) Start the tape library

4) Start the media server

5) Ensure that the library and tape drive is recognised and functioning correctly in the Windows Device Manager. The library should appear as an Unknown Medium Changer with a Microsoft driver and the tape drive should have a Symantec driver.

6) In BE, install the library if necessary.  

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Backup_Exec1
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Hi

1 First of all ensure your tape library is supported by BE2012 HCL.

www.symantec.com/business/support/.../en.../be_2012_hcl.pdf

2 Ensure BE2012 is fully updated with sp1a and all updates

3 Ensure tape drives for library are installed with Symantec tape drivers

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH17931