cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to add new domino mail server... why?

Sani_B
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Hi,

I'm new to domino archiving and am trying to add a new domino mail server to an existing EV 11 environment but it won't add it:Domino_EV_new.jpg

Is there something I need to do first before I'm able to add a new domino mail server??

Sani B.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Sani_B
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Thanks for all your help- much appreciated! =)

Some sort of connectivity issue alright... Rebooting both EV-server and the EVGW-server solved the mystery and allowed to add those domino servers normally.

They had tried before simply service restarts but that didn't help - only when they rebooted the servers it could be done again...

Sani B.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

TonySterling
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Not the exact same error but you could try the step listed to troubleshoot:

ValidateID error when trying to add a specific Domino server as a target

Article:TECH57486  |  Created: 2008-01-08  |  Updated: 2009-01-13  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH57486

When going through the process of adding a Domino server as a target, the referenced error is generated.  This indicates that there is a connectivity issue between the Enterprise Vault (EV) Domino Gateway and the Mail server that is being targeted.

A Dtrace of the AdminService shows the following: (See Related Documents article 276120)

(AdminService) <808> EV:L ValidateID: User name lookup failed for user CN=ArchiveUser/O=domain in Domino Directory on server Domino_Server/Domain, error(2051): Unable to find path to server. To trace this connection, use File - Preferences - User  Preferences - Ports - Trace (Notes client) or Trace command (Domino server)

Resolution:
1. Launch the Domino Administrator or the Lotus Notes client that is on the EV Domino Gateway.