cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netback up Image storage for 6.5

Valhue
Level 2

Hi

I’m new to netback up and I’m struggling to find information on the following. Storage of netback up image's we had some issue where out drive was full and cause netback up to stop working, I need to know if its possible to move these somewhere else on a SAN and if compression is possible and if this needs to be set up during the install of netback up or if it can be done after it or would it be better to have it on a separate drive on the server. my other is what are the pros and cons for compression and does netback up support NTFS compression.

Would you be able to advise if it would be better to do this on 7.1 or better from a clean install.  At the moment we are trying to upgrade to 7.1 but are having issue they Symantec are looking into.

I know its a lot but only been using net back up for a few months and been having a few issue that i need to resolve with either a tech refresh or hopefully just changing the storage of the Images .

Any help is very much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to read this

regards

Frazer

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

OK .. so as it is Windows you can easliy move just a few clients or the entire db directory.

I would advise that if a drive is to be SAN based it is still mapped and mounted locally as a new drive letter

So if you catalogs are currently on C:\ we can move them to say E:\

So for one client at a time (very straight forward) : http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH135546

For the whole db directory look at the text pasted in this discussion by Martin (mph999) - based on a link i provided which seems to have dissapeared from the support site!:

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/tech-note-68160-moving-netbackupdbimages-different-pa...