cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

multiple questions for newbie

gkman
Level 5
Hello, I am still new to netbackup- and there are some questions I haven't found answers to: 1) so far I understand that some jobs triggers child jobs in order to complete the backup- why does sql backup trigger child jobs, how many (according to what it opens new child processes), and what other backups open child jobs (other than vmware that I know of) 2) what happens if a backup doesn't complete in it's window? does it pause until the next window, fail or complete the backup anyway? can I configure the action I want? 3) how can I tell what tapes can I take out of the robot to ship to a DR site? can it be a few different backups on the same tapes? I bet that more questions will come up the more I get to know the system, but that's it for now. thanks for the help
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

1) About multiple streams for a database backup :
because the streams are generated from by the agent on the client, there is nothing we can do on a NetBackup master to rerun or retry the failed stream.
You need to troubleshoot the reason with the help of the dba on the client.
Most agents have retry parameters that can be added to the backup script to ensure the failed db backup is retried.
Here is a forum post with example for SQL: SQL Backup retries  
Similar query over here: Database Backup Cancellation 

2) There should be documented instruction from management level with regards to offsite shipping.
This document should tell you who the offsite tape company is, how often they come to collect and if certain or all tapes should be shipped offsite on daily or weekly basis.

If you do not have NBU Vault option, you need to have your documentation (e.g. spreadsheet) with Media ID, Date of Offsite, Date of Return, etc. etc.

You can use NBU reports to help you.