cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BESR7 Various issues

dales
Level 3

Morning all,

I am running into a few problemettes with besr7, I am fairly new to this enviromnent (under a year with this company), and have just got round to testing the bare metal restore feature of the besr7 software.

The first issue is that when I go though the process of creating an custom SRD from the iso it creates is not always bootable, i.e. I can run through the srd creation wizard and the iso once burned is not bootable then I can run through the wizard again in exactly the same way and the iso will be bootable.

The second issue is that I am trying to restore a bare metal image from a old hp server to a new hp dl380 g7 (simulating a loss of building dr event), however even though when I create the custom SRD on the new server (I had tested dr by putting the besr7 backups onto usb drive which works ok) and it picks up the missing network cards from the original SRD it cannot find any network cards when booting (eventually from a good custom ISO srd disk. All I get is the loopback adapter.

Any help would be apprciated.

Regards

Dale

3 REPLIES 3

dales
Level 3

I'm still having quite alot of trouble with besr7 with getting it to recognise any network cards in the new server. Now because the create custom srd routine picks up and (so it says) incorporates the drivers into the iso I assumed that was all thats needed. Now I've considered the possibility that because the server has x64 drivers on it that they may not work with the srd (even though it detects them when you create the custom disk).

So I've booted with the official srd and also tried to install the 32bit drivers from the hp disk, with no effect either. It just does not seem to be able to find any of the new network cards.