cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a job's Selections/Resource Order

aniella
Level 2

Hello :)

Yes, I am new to Backup Exec products and having a heck of time getting everything sorted out...my apologies if this question is so simple it is stupid, but I actually need that level of clarity right now. Actually I have two really basic question:

QUESTION 1: I am looking at the following listing.  I cannot for the life of me make sense of the /SUBDIR and/or /EXCLUDE labeling here. What is confusing me is the way it is listing what is both included and excluded even if there are files or subdirs that are included and excluded within the same directory.  What is being backed up and what isn't? 

An incredibly explicit answer (yes, hand-holding) to this question would be greatly appreciated.  Unfortunately, pummeled with new info overload (new job) I am a little confidence shaken and confused.  Clearing up at least this (probably very simple) point about this product's config would go a long way toward wrangling our backups into some sort of sensible order and also allow me to speak with my boss with confidence on what is and isn't being backed up and how given the current EXCLUDES in our current nightly backup we will be screwed in the event of a failure. 

When I look at this, for example, it says to me every FILE at the directory level C:\RECYCLER\*.* is being backed up, however if C:\RECYCLER\ has any subdirs the subdirs of this director are NOT being backed up.  Is that correct or not?

I take it something like line 6, D:\*.* is going to include all files and all subdirs and their files.

What about lines 3 and 5 - how are subdirs *.* included only to be excluded and then on line 5 a subdir of the same excluded dir is included. 

What about line 8 - to me that says it is only that particular file that is excluded even though the line above is including all subirs of this drive.   

1:   SERVER - Y

2:   C:\*.* /SUBDIR