cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused with the EV critical error ?

Dushan_Gomez
Level 6

Hello All,

I am new to the EV world that is why I ask this question in this topic, the following error message is what I've found following the problem in my Exchange Server mailbox database partition build up:

• There are 20667 savesets that have not yet been backed up or replicated for Vault Store 'Vaultstore1'. 
  •  There is a build-up of savesets that Enterprise Vault cannot confirm have been backed up or replicated.

Example symptoms: archive-pending items remain in mailboxes, leading to calls to your Help Desk from users; store sizes do not decrease, even though items have been archived.

There may be a problem with backups or replication. 

From the Exchange Server 2007, the backup is all went fine (no transaction log build up) and also the CCR replication is working fine, buthow come EV failed by itself here ?

Thanks,

DG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

AndrewB
Partner    VIP    Accredited

It's very important that you have consistant backups. Again, I strongly recommend you read the section in the admin guide about it.

If your vault store partitions are on VMDK files mounted in your VM, backing the VM to tape won't set the archive bit so you'll have to use a trigger file. Page 60 of the admin guide talks about it.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

AndrewB

Dushan,

It's alerting you that you need to backup your Enterprise Vault Store(s). It is not on the Exchange side and does not have to do with your CCR replication. If your backup method for EV does not use the archive attribute then you'll need to use a trigger file.

Dushan_Gomez
Level 6

ok, here's my understanding for this problem: