cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing Disaster Recovery file.

Foxtrot_Lima
Level 3

Hi,

Im new to both Netbackup and Linux so I thought that someone must have done this before. Running SLES9 and Netbackup 6.5.1

What Im looking for is a solution to send the Disaster Recovery file out of the masterserver to another server and delete DR files that are couple of days old.

How are you managing your Disaster Recovery files? Is there a  simple way to do this?

Regards

Fredrik

8 REPLIES 8

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

We have a Solaris 9 Master Server running 6.5.1.

Our DR file is actually pointed at an NFS mount on the Master pointing to an area on one of our filers.

We have yet to delete any old DR files (currently go back to Sept 2007   Smiley Surprised   Just checked & there are 413 of them but they only take up 1.6Mb) but it should not be an issue setting up a cron to delete any over a certain mtime.

Foxtrot_Lima
Level 3

What I want is to have the DR file on two separated servers incase of a hardware failure, are your DR files in anyway located on two locations when using a NFS?

Been trying to get a shell script working for the removal of old files but I have some difficulties to get the date data sorted. Played around with the FIND command.

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

@Foxtrot_Lima wrote:

What I want is to have the DR file on two separated servers incase of a hardware failure, are your DR files in anyway located on two locations when using a NFS?

Could always copy them after the event ...

@Foxtrot_Lima wrote:
Been trying to get a shell script working for the removal of old files but I have some difficulties to get the date data sorted. Played around with the FIND command.

For older than 30 days (ish):

# find <directory for DR files> -type f -mtime +30 -exec ls -l  {}  \;

-r--------   1 root     other       1657 Sep 14  2007 ./Catalog_Backup_1189752750_FULL
.........etc