cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PureDisk performance issue

Amaan
Level 6

Hi everyone,

I am working on the performance issue of the duplciation jobs from PD.

I found in the following TN command which will test read and write test:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH156743

Command syntax is:

time (dd if=/dev/zero of=/Storage/data/xyz bs=64k count=409600; sync)

When i am runnig this command i am getting the results as mentioned in the TN. I have to make sure that i am getting proper results.

Actually i am new in PD and dont know well about it.

Is this command identical for all PD tests? if no what should i change?

Is there any other tests which i can check/test to find the root cause of slow duplications. What kind of test i can do to check network speed?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Amaan
Level 6

I have reviewed lots of staff regarding this and your comments helped alot on this. as the question was about the PD performance issue and if the command syntax is correct, I cannot mark anybodies post as solution as they have been just guidence not an answer. i cannot mark current post as solution as well, but it has some more info which could help others.

I am going to share this to guide anybody else who will face with same issue or similar issue

I worked with Symantec on this and we have done following to test performance issue of the PD:

1. Media server performance (available memory, CPU and etc..);
  2. Media server NIC througput (Network performance); - just did some monitoring on the media server to check if we have enough throuput on media server NIC.
  3. PDOS performance; - this has been checked by Symantec engineer. but wrote it down for future purposes. here is how to check it:

In the /Storage/log/spoold/storaged.log find two entries.