cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replaced library now can't mount old tapes?

Dayv
Level 2
Environment:
Master server is MS Windows Server 2003 R2 SP1 Standard Edition
NetBackup 6.0MP6
Tape Libary is Quantum PX502, with one HP Ultrium 3 drive connected to fibre switch.

Let me start by saying I'm very new to NetBackup and I'm learning as we go along.  I was thrust into this position about 3 weeks ago with absolutely no previous experience with NetBackup (or any tape backup system, for that matter) and things were fine at first.  We recently had a mechanical issue with our tape library and had to replace it.  It was replaced with the exact same model, just a different serial number.  Really not knowing exactly what I was doing, I ended up deleteing the old devices and used the wizard do create a new library, drive, and storage unit.

With plenty of tapes in the libary, I inventoried the robot.  These were previoiusly used tapes, already in their necessary volume pools.  I tried to run a backup.  I kept getting errors that there was no media available for backup, even though there was plenty.  It would not mount the tapes.  We ended up going into Media and Device Management -> Media -> Robots -> TLD(0) and deleting the tapes.  I re-inventoried and let it add them as if they were new tapes and I was able to start backing up.

The problem I have now is restores.  I cannot restore anything from an older tape.  It will not mount the tapes even though they show as being in the robotic library.

What am I missing here?

Here's an example of the status from a failed restore job... (I've removed file names.  Both of the listed media are available in the library)

4/1/2010 6:43:07 PM - begin Restore
4/1/2010 6:43:11 PM - 1 images required
4/1/2010 6:43:11 PM - media 0155L3 required
4/1/2010 6:43:11 PM - media X472L3 required
4/1/2010 6:43:46 PM - restoring image dgfs01_1258244328
4/1/2010 6:43:49 PM - connecting