cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

hi everyone

chanduemandi
Level 3
i am new to nbu. i have some doudt. pl help me...

I have tapes whose physical expiration date is shorter than I'd like. How do I change that date?

how can i clean the tapes and drives? How often should I clean my drives?

thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6

As you are new I am going to cover this two ways.

1) have tapes whose physical expiration date is shorter than I'd like. How do I change that date?

there are two different dates that most people new to NB need to learn the difference.

You said the expiration date of the TAPE (this is different from the expiration date of the backup IMAGE.

Lets look at Tape first.

the expiration date of a tape - refers to the PHYSICAL tape.
Say you purchased a new tape and you don't want to use for more then 3 years.
So you can set an expiration date of 3 years from today -
You can see this by going to Media in the GUI - right click a tape - choose change
imagebrowser image

You see here that I do not set a date, you also have the option of setting the number of times a tape mounts.  I don't do that either ( most people don't seem to).  If you set this then once the date is reached NB will no longer write to the tape, but you can still restore from it.

Now if you mean the expiration date of a of the Images on a tape - meaning when you look at the media and you see the Data Expiration for that media - this has to do with when will the IMAGES on that tape expire and the tape become a scratch tape again.
To change that you would use the bpexpdate command at the command line.

(below is from help)
bpexpdate - change expiration date of backups in image catalog and media in media catalog

SYNOPSIS

install_path\NetBackup\bin\admincmd\bpexpdate -m media_id -d date | 0 |
infinity [-host name] [-force] [-nodelete] [-notimmediate] [-M
master_server,...]