cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get file share working - DiskRes problem? (VCS6, HP 3PAR, MS MIO)

Para
Level 2

I'm new to VCS so please bear with me.

I'm running VCS 6.0 on W2K8 Server Ent R2 using HP 3PAR SAN using Microsoft Multipath I/O.  I'm trying to get a file share working but I can't get it online.

I have a 3-node cluster and I ran the Add Resource Group wizard and chose the FileShareGroup template.  I am able to bring the NIC, IP and LANMAN resources online.  I can bring these resources up on any node and back and it works fine.  The problem is on the DiskRes.

We are using an HP 3PAR SAN and the Microsoft Multipath I/O that comes with W2K8.  When I add the signature of one of the exported volumes, I can bring it online on a node but then less than a minute later it reboots itself.  After reboot, the Cluster Explorer shows DISKRES as Offline on the first node but Faulted on the other two nodes.

These are no recent log entries on DiskRes_A.txt.

Here's the entry on engine_A.txt that shows that it was online at one point:
2012/06/19 14:11:32 VCS NOTICE V-16-1-10301 Initiating Online of Resource FS_DISKRES (Owner: Unspecified, Group: MYGROUP) on System MYNODE1
2012/06/19 14:11:32 VCS INFO V-16-1-10298 Resource FS_DISKRES (Owner: Unspecified, Group: MYGROUP) is online on MYNODE1 (VCS initiated)

I can post the logs after it rebooted if that will help.

On the node that just rebooted, running C:\Program Files\Veritas\cluster server\bin\getdrive.bat I get:
Could not gather all the disk info. Error : 170

Sure enough, the disk that was skipped was the one I was trying to get online.  When I bring up the Windows Disk Manager, it says that disk has to be initialized but when I do, it says the resource is in use.

When I run getdrive.bat on the second node, the output for that drive is:
Harddisk Number  = 1
Harddisk Type    = Basic Disk
Disk Signature   = 2264237497
Valid Partitions = 1
Access Test      = FAILED