cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape Inventory Failure

stephen_frasset
Level 4
I am going to start off by saying I am new to Netbackup 6 MP4. I have a 48 tape HP MSL4048 library and just changed all 48 tapes with new tapes. All are Ultrium 3 tapes with premade barcodes that are one letter (M, W, or D) 5 numbers, and one Letter (L).
My problem is that when I go to inventory the new tapes it tells me that the ID is not unique because Netbackup is not reading the first letter so some of the numbers might be duplicates. How can I either change Netbacup to read the letter then the numbers or just empty the previous database info?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
5 REPLIES 5

DavidParker
Level 6
Stephen,
You need to tell NetBackup how to read the barcodes. There should be a section in the Master server Host Properties where you can setup barcode rules. It's probably reading the far right side of the label and you need it to read the left side. Barcodes are actually 7 characters long.

stephen_frasset
Level 4
I am unable to find in the settings or help where I can change the length of reading the barcode. I added barcode rules to seperate my Daily, Weekly, and Monthly tapes to different pools, but continue to receive the error 34 "not unique in database".

DavidParker
Level 6
You might also be able to change how the barcode is reported on the tape library itself.
Though I think it's better to setup the rule in NBU.

Stumpr2
Level 6
research MEDIA_ID_BARCODE_CHARS
from page 400 of the media manager admin guide

MEDIA_ID_BARCODE_CHARS = robot_num barcode_length media_ID_rule